Christoph Steinke

Artist

The art of spanking

  • Acrylics on canvas
  • 2019
  • 160x120cm

Obsession

  • Acrylics on canvas
  • 2019
  • 190x100cm

Maria Magdalene

  • Acrylics on canvas
  • 2020
  • 170x100cm

Joy

  • Acrylics on canvas
  • 2019
  • 150x50cm

Untitled Nr. 6

  • Pencil and watercolor on paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Mixed Media on Paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Watercolour on paper
  • 2019
  • 60x40cm

Untitled

  • Pencil and watercolor on paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Watercolor on Paper
  • 2019
  • 60x40cm

Thumbnail Sketch

  • Pencil on Paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing from Life

  • Pencil on Paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing from Life

  • Pencil on paper
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing

  • Pastell and pencil on paper
  • 2019
  • 60x42cm

# Artist Statement

Painting the New Porn Pop Culture

I do art for adults. My pictures are about pornographic images. I want to show the power, the diversity, the pleasure and the joy of human sexuality openly, without taboos and in all its facets and varieties. Let‘s talk about sex!

In my pictures I show explicit scenes of contemporary, alternative and feminist pornography. The focus is on the portraits of those involved. I want to give a positive and free look at the portrayal of erotic sexuality. Sex is positive!

It is time to redefine the cultural relevance of pornography. As part of the new pornographic pop culture, I want to convey a different view of pornography. I would like to contribute that we can talk openly and freely about sexuality and think again. That we again understand sexuality as something deeply human and part of us. I would like to help rid the subject of sex of the ballast of power, ownership claims, taboos, prohibitions and ideologies. In order to be perfect as human beings, we must not separate, deny or suppress our sexual identity. Let‘s play with each other. Sex is a playground for adults.

# Artist Biography

Chris

Christoph Steinke

Born in 1963 in the Black Forest, Germany, the son of an actor and a ballet dancer. Studied Art & Design at the University of Applied Sciences in Pforzheim u.A. with Prof. Peter Jacobi and at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Initially working as a graphic designer and art director at various agencies. In 1999 he took over the management of the graphic and corporate design department at ERCO, a leading international specialist in architectural lighting. Since 2014 freelance artist. Chris lives and works at Ratingen near Düsseldorf, Germany.

Exhibitions:

2018 group exhibition „Kunst im Markt“ at Rheinfelden, near Basel

2019 ARTLAB MUNICH presented by the Galerie Benjamin Eck, Munich

Upcoming

10/2020 Invited to participate at the exhibition „Transperceptions“ in the Bulgarian Cultural Institute at Paris

# Exhibitions

  • 2018 group exhibition „Kunst im Markt“ at Rheinfelden, near Basel

  • 2019 ARTLAB MUNICH presented by the Galerie Benjamin Eck, Munich

Upcoming

  • 10/2020 Invited to participate at the exhibition „Transperceptions“ in the Bulgarian Cultural Institute at Paris

  • Christoph Steinke
  • Bechemer Strasse 62
  • 40878 Ratingen
  • Deutschland

Christoph Steinke

Künstler

The art of spanking

  • Acryl auf Leinwand
  • 2019
  • 160x120cm

Obsession

  • Acryl auf Leinwand
  • 2019
  • 190x100cm

Maria Magdalene

  • Acryl auf Leinwand
  • 2020
  • 170x100cm

Joy

  • Acryl auf Leinwand
  • 2019
  • 150x50cm

Untitled Nr. 6

  • Bleistift und Wasserfarbe auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Mixed Media auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Wasserfarbe auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 60x40cm

Untitled

  • Bleistift und Wasserfarbe auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Untitled

  • Wasserfarbe auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 60x40cm

Thumbnail Sketch

  • Bleistift auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing from Life

  • Bleistift auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing from Life

  • Bleistift auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 100x100cm

Drawing

  • Pastell und Bleistift auf Papier
  • 2019
  • 60x42cm

# Künstler Statement

Painting the New Porn Pop Culture

Ich mache Kunst für Erwachsene. In meinen Bildern geht es um pornografische Darstellungen. Ich möchte die Kraft, die Vielfalt, die Lust und die Freude der menschlichen Sexualität offen, tabulos und in all Ihren Facetten und Spielarten zeigen.

Let‘s Talk about sex!

In meinen Bildern zeige ich explizite Szenen zeitgenössischer, alternativer und feministischer Pornografie. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die Porträts der Beteiligten. Ich möchte einen positiven und freien Blick auf die Darstellung der erotischen Sexualität ermöglichen.

Sex is positiv!

Es ist an der Zeit die kulturelle Relevanz der Pornografie neu zu definieren. Ich möchte als Teil der neuen pornografischen Pop Kultur einen anderen Blick auf Pornografie vermitteln. Ich möchte dabei mitwirken das wir wieder offen und frei über Sexualität reden und denken können. Das wirSexualität wieder als etwas zutiefst menschliches und als einen Teil von uns begreifen. Ich möchte helfen das Thema Sex von dem Ballast aus Macht, Besitzansprüchen, Tabus, Verboten und Ideologien zu befreien. Um als Menschen vollkommen sein zu können dürfen wir unsere sexuelle Identität nicht abspalten,verleugnen oder unterdrücken.

Let’s play with each other. Sex ist eine Spielwiese für Erwachsene.

# Künstlerischer Lebenslauf

Chris

Christoph Steinke

1963 im Schwarzwald als Sohn eines Schauspielers und einer Balletttänzerin geboren. Studierte Kunst & Gestaltung an der Fachhochschule für Gestaltung in Pforzheim u.A. bei Prof. Peter Jacobi sowie an der University of Illinois at Chicago. Zunächst als Grafik-Designer und Art Director bei verschiedene Agenturen beschäftigt. 1999 übernahm er die Leitung des Bereichs Grafik & Corporate Design bei ERCO einem international führenden Spezialisten für Architekturbeleuchtung. Seit 2014 als freier Künstler tätig. Chris lebt und arbeitet in Ratingen bei Düsseldorf.

# Ausstellungen

  • 2018 Gruppenausstellung „Kunst im Markt“ in Rheinfelden, bei Basel

  • 2019 ARTLAB MUNICH präsentiert von der Galerie Benjamin Eck, München

Anstehend

  • 10/2020 Teilnahme an der Ausstellung „Transperceptions“ im Bulgarischen Kulturinstitut in Paris

  • Christoph Steinke
  • Bechemer Strasse 62
  • 40878 Ratingen
  • Deutschland